#30 Days of happiness – Day 19

29Mar13

Even the happiest of people have their moments where they just feel stuck in a rut, nothing seems to make anything better and you can’t seem to imagine things changing. But even if you’re in this moment and you feel like crap (I know not very politically correct but it does accurately describe how one feels in that sort of a situation) sometimes whatever you do even if it is avoiding the world can actually be a good distraction.

I know, I know so far this doesn’t sound like a post that would it into the category of #30 days of happiness challenge but bear with me. I was in that moment and I didn’t want to do anything so I went and grabbed some movies and TV series on DVD and I just chilled out and watched. Even though I wanted to avoid everything, avoid actively seeking out something that would make me happy and just feel miserable watching movies was a great distraction. It took me from my own world into another where I wasn’t thinking about my problems.

I was watching in anticipation of what would happen next, fear, excitement and curiosity. Even though it wasn’t something that would make me jump up and down for joy it was just what I needed because it made me feel something other than feeling sorry for myself. Just taking some time out and watching some movies made me feel better and if something has the ability to make you feel better than I would say that’s definitely something to feel happy about.

My friend & I had been discussing Disney movies & I had a sudden craving to watch this. It took me forever to find this version & I am so happy I did. One of my all time favourites!

My friend & I had been discussing Disney movies & I had a sudden craving to watch this. It took me forever to find this version & I am so happy I did. One of my all time favourites!

One thing that I love is horror movies! Maybe it's the adrenaline or just the heightened anticipation of what will happen next. But if I start watching a horror movie I need to watch all the way to the end otherwise I'd be jumping at shadows the whole night.

One thing that I love is horror movies! Maybe it’s the adrenaline or just the heightened anticipation of what will happen next. But if I start watching a horror movie I need to watch all the way to the end otherwise I’d be jumping at shadows the whole night.

One of my favourite TV series. I love a good action/crime story

One of my favourite TV series. I love a good action/crime story

What is your go to movie or series to watch that picks you up?

One Response to “#30 Days of happiness – Day 19”

  1. 1 Iva

    When I’m down, I like watching Star Trek, somehow mobilizes me. Or I read Arabian Nights.


Leave a Reply

